The Cellular and Molecular Biology Program (CMB) is a vibrant PhD-granting program that offers a unique interdisciplinary perspective based on the latest research advances incorporating cellular and molecular biology. Students can choose from more than 150 faculty laboratories throughout the University, and interact and collaborate in a student-oriented research environment with cutting edge research resources.

The CMB Program was the first interdisciplinary degree-granting graduate program in the sciences at the University of Michigan. It was initiated over 35 years ago by a grassroots faculty effort, the outgrowth of long-standing informal interactions among faculty and students interested in molecular biology, cell biology and molecular and microbial genetics. These interactions were formally recognized in 1971, when the Rackham School of Graduate Studies conferred degree-granting privileges to the CMB Program. CMB remains the only broad-based training program in biomedical sciences and is supported by a longstanding training grant from the NIH. The CMB Program fosters interactions among students and faculty, helping to broaden the students’ appreciation of diverse research opportunities and to encourage interdisciplinary thinking in a highly collaborative atmosphere. Over 150 students have been awarded the Ph.D. in Cellular and Molecular Biology since its inception. Our alumni continue to be leaders in research in many venues. (Average Time to Degree: 5.6 years; Attrition Rate: 10%)

In 1998, the Medical School launched The Program in Biomedical Sciences (PIBS) to coordinate admissions, recruitment and first year training for 11 graduate programs (expanded since to 14) in the biomedical sciences, including CMB. In this context, our distinctive goal is to continue to provide a firm basis in cellular and molecular biology through the exceptional individualized training that characterizes the CMB Program.

Connect with CMB

2966 Taubman Medical Library
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
p: (734) 764-5428
If you're an alumnus, we'd love to hear form you! Take a minute to fill out this profile so we can feature you on our site.


April 13, 2019

Congratulations to Marshall Howington for being awarded the National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF) Award.  This Fellowship provides financial support for three years, over a five-year fellowship period or once you graduate (whichever is first).  Congratulations Marshall on this significant national accomplishment!

August 28, 2018


Anna Michmerhuizen - Mentor: Corey Speers 

Ariel McShane - Mentor: Mats Ljungman

Alex Vizurraga - Mentor: Gregory Tall

Maria Virgilio - Mentor: Kathy Collins

Marshall Howington - Mentor: Scott Leiser

Candilianne Zayas - Mentor: Manoj Puthenveedu

Mara Harwood - Mentor: Billy Tsai

Elizabeth Gensterblum-Miller - Mentor: Chad Brenner

Michael McMillian - Mentor: Sami Barmada

Ginette Balbin-Cuesta (MSTP/G1) - Mentor: Michael Holinstat

Rosie Henn (MSTP/G1) - Mentor: Eva Feldman

Andrew Valesano (MSTP/G1) - Mentor: Adam Lauring

May 24, 2018

Another successful CMB symposium (the 37th!) brought together students and faculty from all over campus to discuss their amazing work, listen to a fantastic talk by Dr. Dominique Bergmann, and commemorate Myron and Barbara Levine. Some pictures from the day.